Durga Puja Diaries, Kolkata – “The Butterfly Effect”

I know it’s late, and I would rather, honestly confess that it’s been around three months now that snaps clicked at the festival of Durga Puja in Kolkata, have been lying with me.

Now, it’s obvious that no matter how prosy my write-up is, if I share experiences woven around those clicks now, I will be imagined as a lazy bum by new friends from all over the world.

I can’t really get rid of far-fetched imaginations and conclusions, but I can very well try to put my opinion across. To express the same kind of emotions that ran through me when I came across the Udayan Sangha pandal in Naktala, Kolkata, was even impossible for me when I’d just reached home the very same night.

All that I could have done then for a bit of justice to my emotions, the joy that ran through my veins, would probably have been, uploading the pictures on a social media site, along with a few lines, trying my best to briefly dole out my fresh feelings, standing in that crowd.

So, sharing the same after months seemed like an unrealistic idea until I decided upon scripting an informal write-up to actually fulfill my desire to share images of the pandal with my readers.

Image

Surrounded by standing butterflies,

Trees, bushes,

Making a patch in that urban neighborhood,

Depict a forest,

Image

I could see the giant butterfly,

Image

Her monstrous wings teeming with lights,

Lights red, yellow, orange, green and blue,

As if trying to eclipse all the attention towards itself,

Image

Image

I could see her coming out of the cocoon,

Encircled, guarded by the ones on their feet…

Image

Image

The cocoon had the idol of the Goddess in it. Both, the idol and the chandelier are worth a watch.

 

 

Debaroon’2012

5 thoughts on “Durga Puja Diaries, Kolkata – “The Butterfly Effect”

  1. Sounds like whatever the experience was it affected you deeply. Always good to work it out, get rid of the negatives and look towards the good. Negatives are strong emotions, not easy to kill but never wanted it enough to preserve I am going to send this out on a quote too. .

Leave a Reply

